We have a big award ceremony every year where students get prizes for academic achievement. I usually manage to award 8-9 students from my department. This year I’m only awarding two. Not because we don’t have great students but because the university decided to change the entire system of award management at the exact time when there’s a hiring freeze and a historically low number of employees.
To say that this is a flustercuck does not begin to cover the issue. The scholarships are endowed by donors, and I have a bunch of very irate donors on my hands who don’t understand why we aren’t managing to give their money away if they already donated it.
It’s the craziest situation. I have the money. Lots of money. I have deserving students. I have donors who gave the money and want it to go to the students. A large banquet hall was reserved. The catering is paid for. And we can’t award. It’s not just me. Everybody has the same problem. That I managed to drag at least two students across the finish line of unhinged austere bureaucracy is already a miracle.
Have you ever tried explaining to an elderly widow who endowed an award in the name of her late husband of 62 years that this year his name won’t be read from the stage at the awards ceremony? And she can’t come to the event? Although she comes every year and it’s a big highlight of her life?
“But why can’t I come?” the widow asks in a shaky voice. “I love this event. It’s so good to spend time with young people. I tell them about my husband and how much he loved languages. Are you sure I can’t come?”
And I feel like the shittiest shit known to humanity.